An ego boost …

OK, so I haven’t had a lot of time for writing fiction or poetry or blog posts of late. It seems every time I turn around, there is something going on. But I did have a brief writerly moment not long ago, and it was a nice little ego boost.

I was in a new library not far from our home, and saw a book on the “New Books” shelf.  It was “The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror 2008,” edited by Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link and Gavin J. Grant. So I led my daughter over to the shelf, opened the volume to the honorable mentions list and showed her dad’s name. “Wow, Daddy! You really are a famous writer!”

Well, no, I explained, but I did pretty good with that story (“The Gods-Forsaken World,” featuring everybody’s favorite resurrected sword-and-sorcery guy, Calthus). My daughter had already seen the honorable mention list in the volume I have at home, of course, but she seemed more impressed to see it in a book at a library.

To be honest, I rather enjoyed that myself. Now if I can just get the library to stock a book with one of my actual stories in it …

The odds of that would go way up if I got back on the writer train, I’m sure.

— Steve

One thought on “An ego boost …

Leave a Reply

